I AM IT

So. Very. It. (DAMMMMM STRAIGHT BITCHES)
And also? My new blogfriend Georgie B tagged me for a book meme. Now you all know I love a good tag but also I don’t tag. A) Because many of my blogfriends do not “do” memes and B) Because people who want to do it should do it whether I tag them or not. So these are the crse-revised rules:
1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules on the blog.
3. Write six random bookish things about yourself.
4. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

1. I knew how to read before I was two years old. Im also an abnormally fast reader. This skill has not bettered my life in any way. It did leave me with an insatiable appetite for books.
2. When I was young, I would read absolutely anything. I read so much that my parents would refuse to send me to my room for punishment. Instead they sent me outside. I would hide books under my clothes and sneak out of site of the house, find a tree and settle down to read.
3. I am incredibly picky about books. I refuse to finish a book if it doesn’t meet my finicky standards. The only exception to this so far are my bookclub books. (and that’s all about not letting someone try to convince me the book got way better right after i stopped reading)
4.(As regular readers can well imagine) I have a horrible relationship with libraries. When my own sweet luckybuzz used to work at the university library, she would automatically renew my books for me. Let’s just say that after she graduated, things went rapidly downhill…
5. I only read in or on my bed. I can’t read anywhere else. I don’t have any idea why that is.
6. I think Im going to try to write a book soon. Ive been thinking about it for years and never felt confident enough to follow through, despite repeated encouragement from family and friends (Gill in particular). Im not saying it won’t suck. Im just saying, I think Im going to try it.

Ok friends, man this took a long time. Im so tired! Viva la me-me

6 Responses to I AM IT

  1. Jay says:

    I know a few people like you who only read in or on their bed. I read everywhere BUT in bed. Just can’t get comfy enough to read there.

  2. Dexter Colt says:

    I used to be under the impression that I had to read “intellectual books.” Then I realized that intellectual books are boring. So, I started reading pulp. Pulp is where it is at. Trust me.

  3. Georgie B says:

    Same here. Can’t read in bed. Can read elsewhere.

    Normally I don’t do things like “tag” because I never quite felt comfortable enough with everyone to do something like this. But now, five months later and with my imprint all over the place as a regular reader of about 10 different blogs, I feel comfortable enough to do it.

    And if it doesn’t work out, everyone here knows where to find me and how to give me what for.

  4. lucy says:

    I read anywhere and everywhere. I always have a book with me, and I usually have two or three going at one time, but I won’t say more because I might actually self-tag this meme.

    BTW, a Crse book would be fabulous fun.

  5. Barbara says:

    I used to check out 25 thick books every two weeks from the library when I was a kid. I also speed read and always have my nose in a book. I used to read under the covers with a flashlight and in the bathroom too. When I have finished a book that is really good, I feel an anticlimax because there is no more. Probalby should join a book club so I can discuss it with others and keep the flame going. Does that sound like I need a life?

  6. jennfactor says:

    Reading fast is a curse, because I have no connection at the library to shield me from random things like due dates. I’ve already forgotten it by the due date, because I read it when I took it home!
    I can’t read “quality” books. It’s all about cheap mass-market fiction. 🙂
    I used to have to empty my pockets before recess to prove I wasn’t taking a book with me.
    I can read anywhere. I’m trying to talk my dad into doing NaNoWriMo, but I’m several years away from trying it myself.

Leave a Reply

